Call for Applications: Africa Food Prize 2022

Call for Applications: Africa Food Prize 2022

The Africa Food Prize committee is pleased to announce the launch of the 2022 nominations for the Africa Food Prize.

The USD 100,000 prize celebrates Africans who are taking control of Africa’s agriculture agenda and changing the reality of farming in Africa from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives. It puts a bright spotlight on bold initiatives and technical innovations that can be replicated across the continent.


The Africa Food Prize recognizes extraordinary women, men, and institutions whose outstanding contributions to African agriculture are forging a new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity that elevates all Africans.

Building on the values and principles established by the Yara Prize, the Africa Food Prize puts a bright spotlight on achievements and innovations that can be replicated across the continent to eliminate hunger and poverty and provide a vital new source of employment and income.

Prize and Award Ceremony

  • The Prize can be awarded to more than one winner, but not more than two. If shared, each winner will receive equal prize money (USD 100, 000 divided in two), a diploma and a trophy.

  • The Prize is awarded at a special ceremony attended by the Prize winner(s), the Africa Food Prize Committee and invited guests. The Prize winner(s) is committed to attend this ceremony.

  • The Africa Food Prize 2022 will be awarded during the AGRF Summit this September.


  • The Africa Food Prize can be awarded to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.

  • The Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, whose work, and contributions deriving from the work, has had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent. The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievements or a series of efforts and results in the recent past, preferably within the last few years.

  • Current or recent members of the Africa Food Prize Committee, or an institution/ organization headed by such a member, are ineligible for the Prize. The Prize cannot be awarded to a person already deceased, but will be presented in the event a Prize winner dies before receiving the Prize.

 Selection Criteria:

The Prize Committee considers the following criteria for the Prize:

  • Contribution to reducing poverty and hunger and/or improving food and nutrition security in measurable terms.

  • Contribution to providing a vital source of income and/or employment in measurable terms.

  • Potential for transformative change through scalability, replication, and sustainability.

  • Increased awareness and cooperation among African audiences and organizations.

  • Proven leadership potential of the individual or organization, specifically the ability to persevere despite significant challenges or risks.

Deadline: 16-May-22

To apply, click HERE


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here