Edo sets up Industrial Policy Committee to rank MSMEs


Edo State government has taken another crucial step to strengthen and promote small and medium-sized businesses (SMEs) in the state with the inauguration of a committee of experts which will drive the process of clustering Medium and Small scales enterprises (MSMEs) in the state for efficiency.

The committee, labeled as the “Industrial Policy Committee” is saddled with the responsibility to develop an industrial policy for the state with focus on MSMEs.

Similarly, the committee is expected to develop a blueprint to strengthen and improve the proficiency and efficiency of the contributions of the medium and small scale enterprises, otherwise known as the MSME’s, in line with the policy on accelerate industrialization of the state government.

The committee tagged “Industrial Policy Committee” has been saddled with the task of creating an industrial policy for the state with an emphasis on MSMEs.

The committee is expected to design a plan to enhance and improve the proficiency and efficiency of the contributions made by medium and small size firms, or MSMEs in keeping with the state government’s aim to promote industrialization.

The State Commissioner of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives, Hon Afie Braimoh inaugurated the committee in her office in Benin.

According to the commissioner, the State government has already hired consultants and is set to break ground on the world-class Benin Enterprise Park, which will play a significant role in supplying the space with 24/7 power that enterprises require to expand and develop.

Hon. Braimoh further urged the committee to conduct a thorough SWOT analysis on the local MSME’s to identify the operational MSME sectors and clusters, in order to help the government allocate resources and incentives effectively.

The committee’s coordinator will be Ms. Yuwa Naps, the Permanent Secretary of the State Ministry of Trade, Industry, and Cooperatives, and its chairman will be Mr. Festus Okougbo, a well-known businessman.

Other members of the committee include Ms. Ajimoti Blessing Oluwatosin, representing one of the development partners, GIZ, on the committee, Mr. Alaba Okun, Mr. Joseph Igiekhume, Mr. Joseph Inegbedion, Mrs. Enobakhare, Mr. Reuben Akogbe, and Mr. Ken Ogedegbe.

Ms. Yuwa Naps, while rendering her vote of thanks praised the commissioner for carefully selecting the committee members, ensuring that the group would work diligently to complete its assignment and contribute to the creation of a long-lasting and workable industrial policy for the state.

Also, the chairman of the committee, Mr. Festus Okougbo, thanked the commissioner for the confidence reposed in them, stating further that the committee would utilize scientific approaches in arriving at world-class solutions to the industrial growth of the state.

Recall that the state government, through the ministry, had, in the previous week, announced a number of incentives intended to increase the capacity of the local MSMEs and expose them to international best practices. One of these incentives included the sponsorship of a chosen group of MSME owners to the upcoming USA/Africa Expo, which is scheduled to take place later this year in the US.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here