FGN unveils Broadband Infrastructure in 18 Universities


The Federal Government has unveiled unlimited broadband connections in 18 selected universities across the 6 political zones and 20 markets in the six geo-political zones of the country.

This was revealed during the unveiling in Abuja on Thursday by Dr. Isa Pantami, Minister of Communications and Digital Economy.

The initiative, according to the minister speaking at the launch, is intended to advance the government’s economic agenda and realize the country’s national digital plan.

According to him, this would hasten the country’s adoption of broadband and advance plans for the nation’s digital economy.

He claimed that increasing information access and digital connectivity both contribute to the improvement of the economy.

“This will result in an addition of up to $2 trillion dollars per year to the world GDP and the creation of about 140 million jobs.

“Similarly, a report by the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation states that 80 per cent of economic benefits in developing countries are as a result of the use of ICTs and digital skills. While in developed countries, it is even higher at 90 per cent.”

He said Nigeria had experienced the impact of the digital economy on other sectors of the economy.

“You will recall that the digital economy of Nigeria played a key role in stabilising and growing other sectors of our economy.

Pantami noted the fact that digital connectivity, access, and skills are critical for human and economic development in both developed and developing countries.

Pantami listed the institutions to include University of Lagos, College Of Education (Special), Ibadan, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Federal University of Technology, Owerri and Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.

Others are University of Calabar, University of Benin, University of Port Harcourt, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Bayero University, Kano, Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina, Borno State University, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University.

The remaining institutions that benefited from the initiative are Bauchi, Gombe State Universities, Federal University of Technology, Minna, University of Ilorin and University of Abuja.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here